

Office of the Bishop Diocese of Memphis

5825 Shelby Oaks Drive Memphis, TN 38134 901-373-1200

1 May 2024

This year we have only one Pastor retiring from active pastoral duties during this assignment period, Reverend Gary Lamb of St. Mary's in downtown Memphis, and we rejoice in the ordination of five men to the priesthood this year. With this in mind, Bishop David and the Clergy Personnel Board prayerfully worked to place our new priests where they are most needed while ensuring the pastoral care for all parishes. Bishop David announces the following clergy appointments:

Effective July 1, 2024 (unless otherwise indicated):

Ave Maria and St. John, Brownsville

Reverend Patrick Hirtz, currently Pastor of Holy Angels in Dyersburg, remains in his current assignment while also being appointed Sacramental Minister of Ave Maria.

Reverend Rob Ballman V.F., currently Pastor of St. Alphonsus, remains in his current assignments while also being appointed Pastor of St. John in Brownsville.

St. Ann

Reverend Mateusz Wegrzyn, who was ordained to the priesthood on January 6, 2024 and is currently Parochial Vicar at St. Ann in Bartlett will remain at St. Ann where Fr. Jacek Kowal is Pastor.

St. Francis of Assisi and Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception

Reverend Joseph Hastings leaves his appointments as Parochial Vicar at St. Francis and Co-Chaplain at SBA and is assigned a full-time student at the Pontifical University of St. Thomas Aquinas (Angelicum), pursuing his Licentiate in Spirituality.

Reverend Horst Lorenz, who was ordained to the priesthood on January 6, 2024 and is currently Parochial Vicar at Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception is appointed Parochial Vicar at St. Francis of Assisi where Fr. Carl Hood is Pastor.

Deacon Andrew Raffanti upon his ordination to the priesthood on June 8, 2024 is appointed Parochial Vicar at the Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception where Fr. Robert Szczechura is Pastor.

St. Louis

Deacon Kacper Wojcieszko upon his ordination to the priesthood on June 8, 2024 is appointed Parochial Vicar at St. Louis Church where Fr. Keith Stewart, V.G. is Pastor.

St. Mary's, Camden (Holy Family Mission)

Reverend Michael Okata, currently Parochial Vicar at St. Mary's in Camden will remain at St. Mary's in Camden where Fr. Herbert Ene is Pastor.

St. Mary's (Downtown) and Holy Rosary

Reverend Gary Lamb, currently Pastor of St. Mary's in downtown Memphis, is given permission to retire from active ministry effective June 30, 2024.

Reverend Patrick Gallagher, currently Pastor of Holy Rosary is appointed Pastor of St. Mary's in downtown Memphis.

Reverend Jeo Poulose, M.C.B.S., currently Parochial Vicar at Holy Rosary is appointed Parochial Administrator at Holy Rosary

Reverend Casey Weber, currently pursuing his Licentiate in Canon Law at Catholic University of America, on August 1st, is appointed Parochial Vicar at Holy Rosary while also working part-time in the Diocesan Tribunal.

St. Patrick

Reverend Dexter Noblefranca, currently Parochial Administrator of St. Patrick Church in Memphis is appointed Pastor. His Installation Mass is on Sunday October 20, 2024.

St. Paul Church and St. Michael

Reverend Francisco Franquiz, currently Parochial Vicar at St. Michael is appointed Parochial Administrator at St. Paul.

Reverend Chris Rusin, currently Parochial Vicar at St. Paul will remain in his current assignment at St. Paul.

Deacon Rolando Perez, upon his ordination to the priesthood on June 8, 2024, is appointed Parochial Vicar at St. Michael where Fr. Ben Bradshaw is Pastor.

Chaplaincies

St. Benedict at Auburndale: With the changes above and while remaining in his current assignments as Parochial Vicar at Incarnation and Assistant Director of Vocations, **Reverend Scott Bahrke** is appointed as the sole Chaplain at SBA.

Clergy Personnel Board

Bishop David sincerely thanks the current Clergy Personnel Board for the sensitive and confidential work they have done in assisting him with the task of ensuring the pastoral care of every parish and mission in the diocese. The terms for Fathers James Martell, Carl Hood, Dennis Schenkel and José Cruz Zapata-Torres are ending with this assignment cycle. The terms of Monsignor Victor Ciaramitaro and Fathers Jolly Sebastian, M.C.B.S and Gerald Azike have been renewed. The positions of Vicar General, Chancellor and Director of Vocations remain as ex-officio members of the board. Please see below for the new members who will start July 1, 2024.

New term: July 1, 2024 - June 30, 2027

Ex-officio: Very Reverend Keith Stewart, VG; Very Reverend James Clark, JV/Chancellor, Very Reverend Robert Szczechura, DOV

Appointed Members:

Monsignor Victor Ciaramitaro Very Reverend Joey Kaump, V.F. Reverend Gerald Azike Reverend Jacek Kowal Reverend Jolly Sebastian, M.C.B.S. Reverend Mike Werkhoven Reverend Rubén Villalón

Presbyteral Council

Ex-officio Members

Most Rev. David P. Talley, M.S.W., J.C.D. Very Rev. Keith Stewart - V.G. Very Rev. James Clark: J.C.L. - J.V./Chancellor Very Rev. Robert Szczechura, S.T.L., Director of Vocations Very Rev. Antonio Romo-Romo, V.F. - Western Deanery (Aug 1, 2025) Very Rev. Joseph Kaump, V.F. - Central Deanery (Aug 31, 2026) Very Rev. Robert Ballman, V.F. - Northern Deanery (Aug 31, 2026) Very Rev. James Martell, V.F. - Southeastern Deanery (Aug 1, 2025)

Term: 30 Aug 2022 - 2025

Elected Members

Appointed Members

Rev. Msgr. Victor Ciaramitaro Rev. Bruce Cinquegrani Rev. Jolly Sebastian, M.C.B.S. Rev. Mike Werkhoven Rev. John Hourican Rev. Dennis Schenkel Rev. Rubén Villalon Rev. Carl Gregorich

Rev. Gerald Azike Rev. Caín Galicia

The Committee for the Ongoing Formation of Clergy (COFC)

The COFC members are appointed by Bishop David. They are given the responsibility of ongoing spiritual formation of the brotherhood of priests and deacons within the diocese. They plan and organize the Priest Convocation, Priest Retreat and Clergy Study Days

Ex-officio

Most Rev. David P. Talley, M.S.W., J.C.D. Very Rev. Keith Stewart, V.G.

Appointed

Rev. Patrick Gallagher, Chair Rev. Gabe Bouck Rev. Ernie DeBlasio Rev. Francisco Franquiz Rev. Joseph Hastings Very Rev. James Clark, Chancellor/JV Very Rev. Robert Szczechura, DOV/ODW

Rev. Horst Lorenz Rev. Rick Mickey Rev. Jeo Poulose, M.C.B.S. Rev. Joseph Sax Deacon Rodney Freed