

Office of the Bishop Diocese of Memphis

5825 Shelby Oaks Drive Memphis, TN 38134 901-373-1200

May 1, 2025

This year, Very Reverend James Martell, V.F., of St. Philip in Sommerville has been granted permission to retire from active ministry. While we have no men being ordained to the priesthood this year, we have three Parochial Administrators that will be made Pastors. With this in mind, Bishop David and the Clergy Personnel Board prayerfully worked to ensure the continued pastoral care for all parishes. Bishop David announces the following clergy appointments:

Effective July 1, 2025 (unless otherwise indicated)

Church of the Ascension and Church of the Nativity/Our Lady of Sorrows

Reverend José Zapata-Torres remains Pastor of Nativity but resigns from his pastorate at Ascension.

Reverend Rubén Villalón remains Pastor of Our Lady of Sorrows and is appointed Pastor of Ascension.

Reverend Rito de Santiago-Carreón remains Parochial Vicar at Ascension and is assigned Parochial Vicar at Our Lady of Sorrows. He will reside at Our Lady of Sorrows Rectory.

Holy Angels/Ave Maria and St. Alphonsus/St. John, Brownsville

Reverend Patrick Hirtz remains Pastor of Holy Angels in Dyersburg and is made Pastor of Ave Maria in Ripley.

Reverend Carlos Donato, currently Parochial Administrator of St. Alphonsus and St. John in Brownsville is made Pastor of both parishes.

Holy Rosary

Reverend Jeo Poulose, M.C.B.S., currently Parochial Administrator at Holy Rosary is made Pastor.

St. Brigid, Incarnation, and St. Ann

Reverend Caín Galicia, currently Parochial Vicar at St. Brigid Church is appointed Parochial Administrator of St. Brigid Church in Memphis

Reverend Scott Bahrke, currently Parochial Vicar of Church of the Incarnation in Collierville is assigned as Parochial Vicar of St. Brigid Church in Memphis where Reverend Caín Galicia is Parochial Administrator.

Reverend Mateusz Wegrzyn is assigned Parochial Vicar of Church of the Incarnation in Collierville where Very Reverend Joey Kaump, V.F., is Pastor.

St. Mary, Jackson/The Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception/St. Anne/St Michael/St. Louis

Reverend David Graham resigns as Pastor of St. Mary in Jackson and is assigned Parochial Vicar at St. Louis where Very Reverend Keith Stewart, V.G., is Pastor.

Reverend Dennis Schenkel resigns as Pastor of St. Anne and is appointed Pastor of St. Mary in Jackson.

Very Reverend James Clark is appointed Administrator of St. Anne from July 1 through August 31 while remaining in his current assignment as Chancellor/Judicial Vicar and In Residence at St. Francis.

Reverend Joseph Hastings, currently studying for his Licentiate in Rome, is appointed Parochial Administrator of St. Anne Church on September 1.

Reverend Jonathan Pérez-Leon, currently Parochial Vicar at St. Mary in Jackson is assigned Parochial Vicar at St. Michael Church in Memphis where Reverend Ben Bradshaw is Pastor.

Reverend Rolando Pérez, currently Parochial Vicar at St. Michael Church in Memphis is assigned Parochial Vicar at St. Mary Church in Jackson where Reverend Dennis Schenkel is Pastor.

Reverend Kacper Wojcieszko, currently Parochial Vicar at St. Louis in Memphis is assigned Parochial Vicar at The Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception in Memphis where Reverend Mike Werkhoven is Pastor.

St. Patrick and St. Philip

Very Reverend Jim Martell, V.F., currently Pastor of St. Philip the Apostle Church in Somerville and Vicar Forane for the Southeastern Deanery is granted permission to retire from active ministry and all assignments.

Reverend Dexter Noblefranca, currently Pastor of St. Patrick Church in Memphis is appointed Pastor of St. Philip the Apostle Church in Somerville.

Reverend Robert Szczechura, currently Parochial Vicar at St. Ann Church in Bartlett is appointed Pastor of St. Patrick Church in Memphis.

St. Paul

Reverend Francisco Franquiz, currently Parochial Administrator at St. Paul Church is made Pastor of St. Paul Church in Memphis.

Reverend Cosmas Ebebe remains in his assignment as Parochial Vicar of St. Paul Church in Memphis until he returns home in September of 2026.

Chaplaincies/Vocations

Reverend Andrew Raffanti leaves his current assignment as Parochial Vicar of The Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception and is appointed full time Chaplain at St. Benedict at Auburndale. He is also appointed Assistant Vocations Director and In Residence at St. Ann Church in Bartlett.

Reverend Horst Lorenz is appointed Chaplain of the Serra Club and Assistant Vocations Director while remaining in his current assignment as Parochial Vicar at St. Francis Church in Cordova.

Reverend Joseph Hastings along with his new appointment is also appointed Assistant Vocations Director and Chaplain to Campus Ministries at University of Memphis and Rhodes College.

Reverends Dennis Schenkel and **Scott Bahrke** remain in their assignments as Assistant Vocations Directors.

Clergy Personnel Board

Bishop David sincerely thanks the current Clergy Personnel Board for the sensitive and confidential work they have done in assisting him with the task of ensuring the pastoral care of every parish and mission in the Diocese. As Director of Vocations, Reverend Jacek Kowal joins the Clergy Personnel Board as an *ex-officio* member. The term for the current board ends in 2027.

Term: July 1, 2024 - June 30, 2027

<u>Ex-officio Members</u>: Very Reverend Keith Stewart, VG Very Reverend James Clark, J.C.L., J.V./Chancellor Reverend Jacek Kowal, DOV

<u>Appointed Members</u>: Monsignor Victor Ciaramitaro Very Reverend Joey Kaump, V.F. Reverend Gerald Azike

Reverend Jolly Sebastian, M.C.B.S. Reverend Mike Werkhoven Reverend Rubén Villalón

Presbyteral Council

Ex-officio Members Most Rev. David P. Talley, M.S.W., J.C.D. Very Rev. Keith Stewart, V.G. Very Rev. James Clark, J.C.L., J.V./Chancellor Reverend Jacek Kowal, DOV Very Rev. Antonio Romo-Romo, V.F., Western Deanery (Aug. 1, 2025) Very Rev. Joseph Kaump, V.F., Central Deanery (Aug. 31, 2026) Very Rev. Carl Gregorich, V.F., Northern Deanery (Aug. 31, 2026) Very Rev. James Martell, V.F., Southeastern Deanery (Aug. 1, 2025)

Term: September 1, 2025 - August 30, 2028

<u>Elected Members</u> Monsignor Victor Ciaramitaro Reverend Carl Hood Reverend Joe Sax Reverend Mike Werkhoven Reverend Robbie Favazza Reverend Dexter Noblefranca Reverend Rubén Villalón Reverend Joseph Hastings <u>Appointed Members</u> Reverend Jolly Sebastian, M.C.B.S. Reverend Gabe Bouck

The Committee for the Ongoing Formation of Clergy (COFC)

The COFC members are appointed by Bishop David. They are given the responsibility of ongoing spiritual formation of the brotherhood of Priests and Deacons within the Diocese. They plan and organize the Priest Convocation, Priest Retreat, and Clergy Study Days.

<u>Ex-officio Members</u> Most Rev. David P. Talley, M.S.W., J.C.D. Very Rev. Keith Stewart, V.G.

<u>Appointed Members</u> Rev. Patrick Gallagher, Chair Rev. Gabe Bouck Rev. Ernie DeBlasio Rev. Francisco Franquiz Very Rev. James Clark, J.C.L., J.V./Chancellor Rev. Jacek Kowal, DOV

Rev. Horst Lorenz Rev. Jeo Poulose, M.C.B.S. Rev. Joseph Sax Deacon Alan Crone