Former Bishops of The Diocese of Memphis

Bishop Martin Holley

Bishop Martin D. Holley

Bishop Emeritus Martin David Holley was appointed the fifth bishop of Memphis on August 23, 2016 and installed on October 16, 2016.

Bishop Terry Steib

Bishop Terry J. Steib

Bishop Emeritus J. Terry Steib, S.V.D. was appointed the fourth bishop of Memphis on March 24, 1993 and installed on May 5, 1993.

Bishop Daniel Buechlien

Bishop Daniel M. Buechlein

Bishop Daniel Mark Buechlein, OSB (April 20, 1938 – January 25, 2018) was appointed the third Bishop of Memphis on January 20, 1987.

Bishop James F. Stafford

Bishop James Francis Stafford was appointed the second Bishop of Memphis on November 17, 1982. He was installed on January 18, 1983.


  • Bishop Caroll T. Dozier was appointed the first Bishop of Memphis on November 12, 1970. His episcopal consecration and installation were January 6, 1971. He served as bishop until his resignation on July 27, 1982.
Translate »