Pope Francis names Bishop David P. Talley, sixth Bishop of the Diocese of Memphis in Tennessee – Installation set for April 2, 2019 On March 5, 2019, His Holiness Pope Francis named the Most Reverend David Prescott Talley as the sixth Bishop of Memphis.

Bishop Talley is the bishop of the Diocese of Alexandria, Louisiana. He will be introduced to the clergy, faithful and public today at a press conference at the Catholic Center for the Diocese of Memphis. Bishop Talley will be installed on April 2, 2019. Time, place and details of the ceremony will be announced in the near future.


The Diocese of Memphis in Tennessee was established on January 6, 1971, by Pope St. Paul VI. The diocese comprises the counties of Benton, Carroll, Chester, Crockett, Decatur, Dyer, Fayette, Gibson, Hardeman, Hardin, Haywood, Henderson, Henry, Lake, Lauderdale, McNairy, Madison, Obion, Shelby, Tipton, and Weakley in the State of Tennessee. There are 1,561,304 people living in the diocese; the Catholic population is 61,793. The diocese comprises 42 parishes, 6 missions, 1 university, 6 high schools (3 private, 2 diocesan and 1 parish), 18 elementary schools (10 parish, 6 diocesan, and 2 private). The total number of students under Catholic instruction, including parish faith formation, is 11,266. The total number of priests in the diocese is 91. There are 81 diocesan priests and 10 religious priests. Sixty-one diocesan priests are active in ministry in the diocese; two diocesan priests are active in ministry outside the diocese. Seventeen priests are retired, sick or absent. There are 9 extern priests. The diocese is also served by 7 4 permanent deacons, 3 8 religious brothers, 3 7 religious sisters and 71 lay ministers.


Amy Hall

(901) 373-1200 Catholic Center
(901) 289-4784 Mobile

Translate »